How to Make PHatea®:

PHatea® is sold in the shape of a 5-gram coin of pressed tea. One tea coin will make one liter (32 ounces) of PHatea®, which is the recommended daily dose. Add one tea coin of PHatea® into a teapot, tea strainer, or a coffee/tea press. Pour boiling hot water over the tea coin, and let it steep for 5 minutes. (If you are using a tea strainer, break up the coin before adding hot water.)

Add ice if you prefer cold tea.

6 Types of Tea | Natural Chinese Dark Tea

6 Types of Tea

All teas in the world come from one plant, the Camellia Sinensis plant. The processing method of each type of tea is what makes each tea unique and determines its flavor, characteristics and value. From the beginning of each method, tea leaves go through the steps involving oxidation, stopping the oxidation, fermentation, forming the final tea shape and drying it.

Tea Type %Oxidation %Fermentation Shelf Life (‘best if used by’ if stored in a sealed package)
Dark tea/ Hei Cha/ Post-fermented tea 0 100 Unlimited
Green tea 0 0 6-18 months
Yellow tea 10 0 6-18 months
White tea 20 0 6-18 months
Oolong tea 50 0 2 years
Black tea 100 0 1-3 years

Of the teas consumed in the United States, most fall into these two categories of tea.

1 Green: 0% oxidation and 0% fermentation. Because of this should always be consumed fresh as the shelf life of green tea is six months to a little over a year if kept in an air-tight container and refrigerated.

2 Black/Red: 100% oxidation and 0% fermentation. Has a shelf life up to three years.

These three teas are less well known to countries outside of China.

3 Oolong: 50% oxidation and 0% fermentation

4 Yellow: 10% oxidation and 0% fermentation

5 White: 20% oxidation and 0% fermentation

Post-fermented PHatea® tea contains the ‘Golden Flower’ as a result of a unique processing performed only in the Hunan Province of China. This unique process is fully explained in our processing section.

6 Post-fermented (PHatea®): 0% oxidation and 100% fermentation. Raw tea leaves goes through a ‘piling’ process involving micro-organisms and only then can be categorized as post-fermentation or ‘dark’ tea. This category of tea is the only one to improve with age, as the fermentation process continues until the tea is brewed for consumption by the consumer, which gives these teas a special quality, value and health benefits. Like fine red wine continues to improve with age, so do these teas and they have an indefinite shelf life.